Qui nous sommes

Seins Denses Canada est un organisme à but non lucratif fondé en 2016. Il est composé de survivantes du cancer du sein et professionnels de la santé, voués à accroître la sensibilisation aux risques associés aux seins denses et plaider en faveur de l’importance d’informer les femmes de leur densité mammaire, dans le but de leur donner accès à un dépistage optimal de cancer du sein.

NOS OBJECTIFS : SENSIBILISATION ET DÉFENSE DE VOS DROITS

Accroître la sensibilisation des femmes, des médecins, des infirmières et infirmiers praticiens aux risques associés aux seins denses.

Convaincre les autorités de la santé de communiquer la densité mammaire aux médecins de famille, aux infirmières et infirmiers praticiens, ainsi qu’à toutes les femmes.

Convaincre les autorités de la santé de faire passer une échographie aux femmes dont les seins sont de Catégorie D (seins extrêmement denses) et de Catégorie C,(seins denses hétérogènes) avec antécédents familiaux.

POURQUOI NOUS SOUHAITONS APPORTER DES CHANGEMENTS

La plupart des femmes ne connaissent pas leur densité mammaire. Au Canada, plus de trois millions de femmes âgées de plus de 40 ans ont des seins denses. Seins Denses Canada souhaite éduquer les femmes sur l’importance de connaître leur densité mammaire et les conséquences d’avoir des seins denses.

Pourquoi la densité mammaire est une préoccupation

Les femmes qui ont des seins denses sont plus à risque de développer un cancer du sein. Les seins denses sont un facteur de risque indépendant du cancer du sein. Les femmes avec des seins plus denses sont de quatre à six fois plus susceptibles d’avoir le cancer du sein que les femmes avec des seins graisseux. Plus le niveau de densité mammaire est élevé, plus le risque de cancer s’accroît. Les études montrent que d’avoir des seins denses est un facteur de risque encore plus important que d’avoir des antécédents familiaux de cancer du sein.

Les mammographies sont très importantes, mais elles ne sont pas suffisantes pour les femmes avec des seins denses. Dans les catégories de densité plus élevée, la mammographie pourrait détecter seulement 50% des cancers du sein. Les femmes avec des seins denses peuvent bénéficier d’un examen de dépistage supplémentaire. Une échographie jumelée à une mammographie peut réduire le nombre de diagnostics erronés ou tardifs du cancer.

Notre équipe

Dr. Paula Gordon-about
Dr. Paula Gordon

Paula B. Gordon, OBC, MD, FRCPC, FSBI

Conseillère médicale

Dre Paula Gordon est professeure clinique au département de radiologie de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle est directrice du Sadie Diamond Breast Program du BC Women’s Hospital.

Durant les années 80, ses recherches sur les biopsies mammaires sous guidage échographique ont permis à cette technologie de devenir la norme de soins au travers le monde. Cette intervention a permis possible le diagnostic exact des masses au sein qui exigeaient antérieurement une intervention et a permis aux femmes d’éviter la chirurgie pour les anomalies non cancéreuses.

Au cours de sa carrière, Dre Gordon a publié 30 articles dans des revues à comité de lecture. Son travail de recherche au début des années 1990 était le premier à démontrer que l’ultrason pouvait détecter les cancers non détectés par les mammographies. Ceci a engendré un changement de paradigme dans la gestion du dépistage chez les femmes aux seins denses qui a débuté aux É.-U. en 2009, et qui s’étend maintenant au Canada, au Royaume-Uni, en Australie et en Europe.

En 1996, elle a été membre du groupe de travail d’experts du centre de santé des femmes de la C.-B. pour un programme pilote au sujet de l’évaluation et de diagnostic mammaire. Depuis, elle a été directrice médicale du Sadie Diamond Breast Program de 2007 à 2019. Au cours de cette période, elle a obtenu des fonds de la fondation Diamond et de l’autorité provinciale de services de santé en vue d’acquérir la première technologie de tomosynthèse (mammographie 3D) en C.-B. et créer la bourse de recherche d’imagerie du sein de Vancouver dans le but de former les leaders du futurs de ce domaine. Elle a fait en sorte que les stagiaires puissent alterner entre le centre de soins de santé de la femme de la C.-B., l’organisme du cancer de la C.-B. et le bureau de Dre Warren et associés afin d’assurer leur exposition à de multiples experts. En raison de la réputation du programme, elle a également formé des boursiers auto-financés d’autres provinces, des É.-U. et du Moyen-Orient

Avec l’acquisition de la tomosynthèse, Dre Gordon a permis à la ville de Vancouver de figurer parmi l’un des premiers sites canadiens à se joindre au TMIST : the tomosynthesis mammographic imaging screening trial (essai sur le dépistage du cancer du sein par imagerie de tomosynthèse mammaire), un essai multicentrique financé par la FDA. Ceci lui a permis de donner des centaines d’heures bénévoles en participant à la planification et à la préparation du procès en tant que site principal canadien.

Dre Gordon est très appréciée pour son mentorat d’étudiants en médecine, des résidents en radiologie et des boursiers en imagerie du sein, ainsi que pour l’enseignement qu’elle offre à ses patients individuels et au public. Elle est une éducatrice populaire lors d’ateliers pratiques à la société de radiologie d’Amérique du Nord, où les radiologues apprennent à effectuer des biopsies à l’aiguille et d’autres interventions avec échoguidage, et ce, chaque année depuis leur introduction en 1993.

Conférencière, modératrice et membre de comité très recherchée, elle a été invitée à présenter durant des centaines d’exposés à l’échelle locale, nationale et internationale, et a également participe à des groupes scientifiques au travers l’Amérique du Nord.

Elle agit à titre de bénévole et de rélectrice de plusieurs revues médicales, ainsi que de conseillère bénévole pour Seins Denses Canada, un groupe de défense des droits des patients et à un site Web éducatif : Dense Breast Info (infos sur les seins denses).

Avec ses collègues de partout au Canada, elle a été membres fondateurs de la Société canadienne de l’imagerie mammaire.

Dre Gordon a joué le rôle de bénévole et de présidente pour des dizaines de comités :

  • · Membre, Lower Mainland Innovation and Integration Fund Committee for Breast Health
  • · Présidente, Early Detection Committee, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation 2020 Project
  • · Présidente, Early Detection Committee of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, BC/Yukon Division,
  • · Membre, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation Breast Cancer Prevention and Risk Assessment Clinic Advisory Board
  • · Présidente, Academic Committee of the Screening Mammography Program of British Columbia,
  • · Coprésidente, Workforce Committee of the Provincial Breast Health Strategy et membre des Steering, Clinical Pathway and Prevention Committees of the Provincial Breast Health Strategy
  • · Membre, Provincial Radiology Expert Committee et rélectrice pour le Canadian Association of Radiology Mammography Accreditation program
  • · Rélectrice des directives des pratiques cliniques pour le American College of Radiology
  • · Rélectrice des directives des pratiques cliniques pour la Canadian Association of Radiologists
  • · Membre, UBC Radiology Advisory Committee

En plus de consacrer tout son temps à l’amélioration de la santé des seins, elle est également administratrice du conseil Canucks for Kids Fund depuis 2006.

En reconnaissance de ses contributions dans domaine de l’imagerie mammaire, elle a été nommée boursière de la Society of Breast Imaging, une société du American College of Radiology en plus d’être bénévole pour son conseil d’administration.

Ses autres prix et distinctions incluent :

• Prix du Canadian Heads of Academic Radiology Development

• Prix en Excellence du BC Children’s and Women’s Hospital

• Prix en éducation Killam de l’Université de la Colombie Britannique

• Médaille du jubilé de la Reine Elizabeth II

• Ordre de la Colombie Britannique

• Membre honoraire du UBC Medical Alumni Association

• Prix du réseau du Women’s Executive Network nommer une des 100 femmes les plus influentes et pionnières au Canada

• Nommée une des meilleures spécialistes au Canada pour la détection et diagnostic du cancer par le Ministère de la condition féminine, a l’occasion de la journée international de la radiologie

• Meilleure Educatrice – UBC Radiology Residents

Marlie Oden
Marlie Oden

MARLIE ODEN
Présidente des communications

"Je suis reconnaissante que mon cancer ait été dépisté tôt, mais la mammographie n’avait détecté le cancer que dans un sein."

Mordue de la santé, Marlie fut étonnée d’apprendre, en 2016, qu’elle avait le cancer dans les deux seins. La mammographie n’avait dépisté le cancer que dans un seul sein. Elle se considère chanceuse que son médecin lui avait déjà mentionné vingt ans plus tôt, suite à une biopsie et une échographie, qu’elle avait les seins denses. Toutefois, il ne suffit pas de le savoir. Elle aurait dû passer une échographie à tous les ans, afin de détecter le cancer le plus tôt possible, mais le rhythme de sa vie était très rapide. En 1995, Marlie a fondé son entreprise, Bridge Communications. Avant cela, elle a travaillé chez McKim Advertising, à Vancouver, où elle était responsable du compte Tourism British Columbia avant d’être nommée vice-présidente et directrice des comptes. Marlie a été membre du conseil d’administration de Téléfilm Canada, du Arts Club Theatre, du festival international du film de Vancouver, de Vancouver TheatreSports, de Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival, du Fringe Festival, du BC Wine Institute, du BC Bortstal Association et du Stanley Theatre. Le 30 juillet 2013, elle a été nommée au conseil d’administration de Radio-Canada pour un mandat de cinq ans.

An active member of her community, she has received the Jessie Richardson Patron of the Arts Award and the City of Vancouver Arts Award for Outstanding board member. In 2016, Marlie was recognized by BC Business as one of British Columbia’s 35 most influential women. Marlie attended the Faculty of Arts at the University of Alberta. She is a graduate of the Canadian Board Diversity Council Program and a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors. She is an avid runner and her greatest joy is her family. Her passion is to make sure that women get the best advice and treatment possible for breast cancer.

jennie photoshopped final
Jennie Dale

JENNIE DALE
Cofondatrice, la directrice exécutive

Jennie est la directrice exécutive de Seins Denses Canada. Elle habite en Ontario. Elle a reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein en octobre 2014. Ni la mammographie, ni la tomosynthèse n’avait détecté le cancer - il a été détecté par échographie. En 2017, inspirée par le succès du travail de plaidoyer des organismes américains “areyoudense.org” et "densebreast-info.org”, Jennie a cofondé Dense Breasts Canada avec Michelle DiTomaso, et s’est associée à des survivantes du cancer du sein à travers le pays afin de sensibiliser la population aux risques associés aux seins denses. Depuis près de quatre ans, leur travail de plaidoyer a entraîné des changements de politiques dans plusieurs provinces canadiennes.

Présentement, quatre provinces informent toutes les femmes de leur densité mammaire, et trois informent les femmes dans la plus haute catégorie de densité. Le travail continue, jusqu’à ce toutes les Canadiennes soient informées de leur densité mammaire et les implications. Jennie est également impliquée dans un travail de plaidoyer au niveau fédéral, luttant pour que des révisions nécessaires soient faites aux lignes directrices du Groupe d’étude canadien sur les soins de santé préventifs en matière de dépistage du cancer du sein, qui mettent la vie des Canadiennes en danger. 

Michelle Di Tomaso
Michelle Di Tomaso

MICHELLE DI TOMASO
Cofondatrice

Michelle est cofondatrice de Seins Denses Canada. En août 2014, elle a reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein triple positif, stade 2B. Au cours des deux années qui ont suivi, elle a subi deux opérations, des traitements de chimiothérapie (AC, Taxol et Herceptin) et de radiothérapie, une mastectomie bilatérale et trois chirurgies de reconstruction mammaire ratées. Elle a été hospitalisée pendant 25 jours.

Michelle a été informée que son diagnostic de cancer avait été retardé de trois ans, parce qu’elle avait des seins denses. Si le cancer avait été dépisté plus tôt, le traitement aurait probablement été limité à la chirurgie.

Michelle habite en Colombie-Britannique, la première province canadienne à informer toutes les femmes de leur densité mammaire, depuis 2018. Elle a continué son travail de plaidoyer avec succès, afin que les femmes de la Colombie-Britannique aient accès à une échographie de dépistage, payée par le régime d’assurance médicale (Medical Services Plan). Présentement, quatre provinces canadiennes informent toutes les femmes de leur densité mammaire, et trois informent les femmes dans la plus haute catégorie de densité. Michelle souhaite que toutes les femmes du Canada soient informées de leur densité mammaire au moyen de la lettre de résultat de mammographie.

ADVOCATE PIC- annie
Annie Slight

ANNIE SLIGHT
Director, Advocacy and Education, Quebec

Annie is the Director of Advocacy and Education in Quebec. She lives in Montreal. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2013 at age 42. After a normal mammogram, Annie discovered a lump six months later. As a breast cancer survivor, she feels strongly about giving back and advocating for women. She also is passionate about ensuring that women receive information about their breast density so that they can make informed healthcare decisions. Annie began working with DBC in 2018. For the past two years, Annie has been raising awareness through numerous interviews in the media, actively spreading the word on social media and speaking to women at events. She has been advocating intensively for policy change.

Quebec was the first province to make it mandatory to include breast density information in the mammogram report sent to the doctor. However, doctors are not relaying the density information to women and most women do not know to ask their doctor. The government has committed to providing the density category in a woman’s Health Booklet in 2021, but this is not enough. Annie continues to advocate so that all women in Quebec will be told their breast density in their mammogram results letter, as is being done in other provinces.

Nos Défenseurs

BC, AB, SK, MB

Michelle Di Tomaso | British Columbia

Marlie Oden | British Columbia

Joscelyn Baker | British Columbia

Cinda Lambert | British Columbia

Feather Sherwood | British Columbia

Trisha MacNeill | Alberta
View Bio

Gayle Woloshyn | Saskatchewan

Sharon Olson | Saskatchewan

ON, QC

Jennie Dale | Ontario

Ann Hill | Ontario
View Bio

Leda Raptis | Ontario

Elizabeth Barnes | Ontario

Naomi Pickersgill | Ontario
View Bio

Anna DePellegrin | Ontario

Andrea Douglas | Ontario

Barbara Moscovich | Ontario

Annie Slight | Quebec
View Bio

NB, NS, PEI, NL

Kathy Kaufield
New Brunswick | Prince Edward Island

Ellen Grant | Nova Scotia

Gaynor Hart | Nova Scotia

Sharon MacNeill | Prince Edward Island
View Bio

Janet Gallant | Prince Edward Island

Who We Are

Dense Breasts Canada (DBC) is a non-profit organization, founded in 2016. DBC is made up of breast cancer survivors and healthcare professionals dedicated to raising awareness about the risks associated with dense breasts and advocating for breast density notification. 

OUR GOALS: AWARENESS AND ADVOCACY

To increase awareness among women, doctors and nurse practitioners of the risks associated with dense breasts.

To convince health authorities to report breast density to family doctors, nurse practitioners and women.

To convince health authorities to provide ultrasounds to women in Category D (Extremely Dense Breasts) and to women in Category C with a family history (Heterogeneously Dense).

WHY WE’RE SEEKING CHANGE

Most women do not know their breast density. Over 3 million women in Canada, over age of 40, have dense breasts. DBC wants to educate women about the importance of knowing their breast density and the implication of having dense breasts.

Why breast density matters:

Women with dense breasts have a higher chance of developing breast cancer: Dense breasts are an independent risk factor for cancer. Women with the densest breasts are 4-6 times more likely to get cancer than women with fatty breasts. The higher the density, the higher the risk of cancer. Studies show that having dense breasts is an even more significant risk factor than having a family history of breast cancer.

Mammograms are very important but they are NOT enough for women with dense breasts. Mammography can miss up to 50% of the breast cancers in the highest category of density. Women with dense breasts can benefit from additional screening. The use of ultrasound, in addition to mammography, can decrease the number of missed or delayed cancer diagnoses.

Our People

Dr. Paula Gordon-about
Dr. Paula Gordon

Paula B. Gordon, OBC, MD, FRCPC, FSBI

Medical Advisor

Dr. Paula Gordon is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Radiology at the University of British Columbia. She is a passionate clinician, researcher and educator.

In the 1980’s her research on ultrasound-guided breast biopsies led to it becoming a standard of care worldwide. This procedure enabled accurate diagnosis of breast masses, which had previously required surgery and allowed women to forego surgery for non-cancerous abnormalities.

During her career, Dr. Gordon has published 30 articles in peer-reviewed journals. Her research in the early 1990’s was the first to show that ultrasound could find cancers missed on mammograms. This has led to a paradigm change in the management of screening women with dense breasts that began in the USA in 2009, but is now spreading to Canada, the UK, Australia and Europe.

She was a member of BC Women’s Health Centre’s Expert Task Force for a Breast Assessment & Diagnostic Partnership Pilot Program in 1996, and has worked there since, serving as Medical Director of the Sadie Diamond Breast Program from 2007 to 2019. During that time, she secured funding from The Diamond Foundation and the Provincial Health Services Authority to obtain the first tomosynthesis technology (3D mammography) in BC and to establish the Vancouver Breast Imaging Fellowship, to train the future leaders in breast imaging. She arranged for trainees to rotate through BC Women’s Health Care Centre, BC Cancer, and the office of Dr. Linda Warren & Associates to ensure exposure to multiple experts. Due to the reputation of the program she has also trained self-funded fellows from other provinces, the USA and the Middle East.

With the acquisition of tomosynthesis, Dr. Gordon arranged for Vancouver to be among the first Canadian sites to join TMIST: the tomosynthesis mammographic imaging screening trial, an FDA-funded multi-centre trial, donating hundreds of hours participating in the planning and preparation of the trial as a Canadian lead-in site.

Dr. Gordon is widely appreciated for her mentoring of medical students, radiology residents and fellows in breast imaging, as well as teaching her individual patients and the public. She is a popular instructor at "Hands-on workshops" at the Radiologic Society of North America where radiologists learn how to perform needle biopsies and other procedures with ultrasound guidance, and has done so every year since they were first introduced in 1993.

She is a sought-after speaker and moderator and panel member, and has given hundreds of invited lectures locally, nationally and internationally, as well as participating on and chairing scientific panels throughout North America.

She volunteers as a reviewer for several medical journals, and is a volunteer advisor to Dense Breasts Canada, a Canadian patient advocacy group, and an American educational website: Dense Breast Info.

With colleagues from across Canada, she was a founding member of the Canadian Society of Breast Imaging.

Dr. Gordon has volunteered on and chaired dozens of committees:

  • Member, Lower Mainland Innovation and Integration Fund Committee for Breast Health
  • Chair, Early Detection Committee, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation 2020 Project
  • Chair of the Early Detection Committee of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, BC/Yukon Division,
  • Member, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation Breast Cancer Prevention and Risk Assessment Clinic Advisory Board
  • Chair of the Academic Committee of the Screening Mammography Program of British Columbia,
  • Co-Chair of the Workforce Committee of the Provincial Breast Health Strategy, and a member of the Steering, Clinical Pathway and Prevention Committees of the Provincial Breast Health Strategy,
  • Member of the Provincial Radiology Expert Committee, a reviewer for the Canadian Association of Radiology Mammography Accreditation program
  • Reviewer for clinical practice guidelines for the American College of Radiology
  • Reviewer for clinical practice guidelines for the Canadian Association of Radiologists
  • Member, UBC Radiology Advisory Committee

And in addition to all the time she volunteers to better breast health, she also has volunteered as a Director of the Board of the Canucks for Kids Fund since 2006.

In recognition of her contributions to the field of breast imaging, she was made a Fellow of the Society of Breast Imaging, a society of the American College of Radiology, and volunteers on their Board of Directors.

Her other awards and recognition include:

Canadian Heads of Academic Radiology Development Award

BC Children’s and Women’s Hospital Award of Excellence in Education

A Killam Teaching Prize from University of British Columbia.

The Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal.

The Order of British Columbia,

Honorary member of the UBC Medical Alumni Association.

Canadian Women’s Executive Network Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada, Trailblazers and Trendsetters Award

Was called “one of the greatest Canadian specialists in breast cancer detection and diagnosis” by the Ministry for the Status of Women, on the occasion of the International Day of Radiology

Best Teacher – UBC Radiology Residents

Marlie Oden
Marlie Oden

MARLIE ODEN
Communications Chair

“I am grateful my cancer was caught early, but the mammogram only caught the cancer in one breast."

A bit of a health nut, Marlie was shocked in 2016 to find out that she had breast cancer in both breasts. Only one breast cancer was discovered by mammogram. One of the lucky ones, she knew she had dense breasts, as her physician had informed her 20 years earlier (after a biopsy and being told by the ultrasound radiologist). But knowing wasn’t enough- she should have had an ultrasound each year- the earlier it’s caught the better. Life gets busy. Marlie founded Bridge Communications in 1995 and prior to that, she worked at McKim Advertising, based in Vancouver, where she managed the Tourism British Columbia account before becoming the Vice-President and Account Director. Marlie has sat on the Board of Directors of Telefilm Canada, the Arts Club Theatre, the Vancouver International Film Festival, Vancouver TheatreSports, Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival, The Fringe Festival, BC Wine Institute, BC Bortstal Association, and the Stanley Theatre. Marlie was appointed to the Board of Directors of CBC/Radio-Canada on July 30, 2013, for a five-year term.

An active member of her community, she has received the Jessie Richardson Patron of the Arts Award and the City of Vancouver Arts Award for Outstanding board member. In 2016, Marlie was recognized by BC Business as one of British Columbia’s 35 most influential women. Marlie attended the Faculty of Arts at the University of Alberta. She is a graduate of the Canadian Board Diversity Council Program and a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors. She is an avid runner and her greatest joy is her family. Her passion is to make sure that women get the best advice and treatment possible for breast cancer. Marlie received great treatment at the BC Cancer Agency and looks forward to working with them, getting the word out on dense breasts.

Jenne Dale
Jennie Dale

JENNIE DALE
Co-Founder, Executive Director

Jennie is the Co-founder of Dense Breasts Canada (DBC). She lives in Ontario. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in October 2014. Mammogram and tomosynthesis did not detect her cancer-it was detected by ultrasound. Inspired by the successful advocacy efforts of American organizations, "areyoudense.org" and "densebreast-info.org," Jennie co-founded DBC with Michelle DiTomaso in 2017 and has teamed up with breast cancer survivors nationwide to raise awareness of the risks of dense breasts. Together, they are also advocating for breast density notification for all women in Canada.

Michelle Di Tomaso
Michelle Di Tomaso

MICHELLE DI TOMASO
Co-Founder

Michelle is the Co-founder of Dense Breasts Canada. She was diagnosed in August 2014 with Stage 2B, Triple Positive Breast Cancer. Over the next 2 years, she underwent 2 surgeries to remove the cancer, Chemotherapy (A/C, Taxol and Herceptin), Radiation, a Double Mastectomy and 3 unsuccessful reconstructive surgeries, and spent 25 days in the hospital.

She was informed that her cancer diagnosis had been delayed 3 years because she had dense breasts. Had the cancer been caught earlier, the treatment would more than likely have been limited to surgery only.

Michelle is from British Columbia: the only Canadian province to currently notify all women of their breast density. She is passionate about seeing breast density notification for all women in Canada included in the mammogram results letter.

Meet Our Advocates

BC, AB, SK, MB

Michelle Di Tomaso | British Columbia

Marlie Oden | British Columbia

Joscelyn Baker | British Columbia

Cinda Lambert | British Columbia

Feather Sherwood | British Columbia

Melanie MacLean | British Columbia

Trisha MacNeill | Alberta
View Bio

Gayle Woloshyn | Saskatchewan

Sharon Olson | Saskatchewan

Louise Schoenherr | Manitoba

ON, QC

Jennie Dale | Ontario

Ann Hill | Ontario
View Bio

Leda Raptis | Ontario

Elizabeth Barnes | Ontario

Naomi Pickersgill | Ontario
View Bio

Anna DePellegrin | Ontario

Annie Slight | Quebec
View Bio

NB, NS, PEI, NL

Kathy Kaufield
New Brunswick | Prince Edward Island

Ellen Grant | Nova Scotia

Sharon MacNeill | Prince Edward Island
View Bio

Janet Gallant | Prince Edward Island