Elaine

En 2017, à 50 ans, j'ai reçu une lettre m'invitant à passer ma première mammographie. Mon médecin de famille a reçu une copie des résultats et m'a informé que tout allait bien.
Deux semaines passent, et je reçois un appel me demandant de me présenter pour une deuxième mammographie et échographie de mon sein gauche. Je me fais dire de ne pas m’inquiéter, que c’est parce ce qu’on ne voit pas bien sur la mammographie. On voit qu’au niveau du sein gauche, il y a présence de kystes, qui seront à surveiller dans six mois. Donc, tout est normal…m just the day before.

After two weeks, I received a phone call asking me to report to the hospital for a second mammogram and an ultrasound of my LEFT breast. I was told not to worry, that they just couldn’t see clearly on the mammogram. Some cysts were found in my left breast that would require a follow up in six months. So, everything was fine…

La radiologue me demande si j’ai récemment senti des bosses. Je lui mentionne que oui, dans le sein droit, mais on m’a dit qu’il apparaissait normal sur la mammographie. La radiologue regarde le cliché de ma mammo du mois de septembre, et me dit qu’on n’y voit rien, à cause de ma densité mammaire. Je passe donc une échographie du sein droit, et suis immédiatement référée pour une biopsie.

L’attente du résultat est insupportable. Le lendemain, le verdict tombe: cancer du sein. Je m’évanouis en apprenant la nouvelle tant le choc est grand. La tumeur mesure déjà 1.2 centimètre…et n’était pas visible à la mammographie!

Je n’ose pas penser ce qui serait arrivé si ce soir-là, je n’avais pas fait un auto-examen des seins… Le sein qui a le cancer était considéré comme normal à la mammographie!

Pourquoi n’avais-je pas été informée de ma densité mammaire dès ma première mammographie? J’ignorais que j’avais un risque accru de développer un cancer du sein à cause de ma densité mammaire, et qu’un résultat de mammographie normal n’était peut-être pas exact, dû au fait que j’avais les seins très denses. Si j’avais su, j’aurais pu discuter avec mon médecin de tous mes facteurs de risque…

De plus, depuis ma ménopause, je suivais des traitements d’hormonothérapie. Avoir su que ma densité mammaire me plaçait à un risque accru de développer un cancer du sein, j’aurais pu évaluer les bénéfices et risques de la prise d’hormones, en discuter avec mon médecin, et peut-être aurais-je décidé de ne pas en prendre… J’aurais certainement été plus vigilante avec mes auto-examens!

Mais ce droit de me protéger m’a été enlevé. En ne me parlant pas de ma densité mammaire et des risques qui sont associés aux seins denses, j’ai été privée de mon droit de me protéger. Les choses doivent changer!

In 2017, at age 50, I received a letter inviting me to go for my first mammogram. My family doctor received a copy of the results and informed me that everything was fine.
Two years later, in 2019, I received my second letter and went for a mammogram in September. The next day, my breasts felt a little sore, so I decided to perform a self-breast exam, something I did not usually do. I immediately felt a lump in my RIGHT breast, but did not really worry, having had a mammogram just the day before.

After two weeks, I received a phone call asking me to report to the hospital for a second mammogram and an ultrasound of my LEFT breast. I was told not to worry, that they just couldn’t see clearly on the mammogram. Some cysts were found in my left breast that would require a follow up in six months. So, everything was fine…

The radiologist looked at my mammogram from September; he told me they could not see anything, because of my breast density. The radiologist thankfully asked if I had recently felt lumps. I answered yes, in my right breast, and I said but I was informed that it appeared normal on the mammogram. An ultrasound of my right breast was then performed, and I was immediately sent for a biopsy.

Waiting for the results was excruciating. The next day, my life changed forever; I have breast cancer. The shock was so intense that I fainted in the doctor’s office. The tumor already measured 1.2 centimeter…and was not visible on my mammogram!

I cannot bring myself to think about what would have happened if I didn’t do a self-exam that night … The breast with the cancer was considered NORMAL on my mammogram!

Why wasn’t I informed of my breast density following my first mammogram? I wasn’t aware that I had an increased risk of developing breast cancer because of my breast density, and that a “normal” mammogram wasn’t necessarily accurate, since I have very dense breasts. Had I known, I could have had a conversation with my doctor about all my risk factors…

In addition, since menopause, I was taking hormone replacement therapy. Had I known that I had an increased risk of developing breast cancer, I could have weighed the pros and cons of taking hormones… I certainly would have been more vigilant with my self-exams!

Sadly, this right to protect myself was taken from me. By not telling me about my breast density and the risks associated with dense breasts, I was deprived of the right to protect myself. Things have to change!